Society  Comments Off
Jan 252007

The Society meets annually and when possible on the anniversary of the conception of psychophysics by Gustav-Theodor Fechner which occurred on the morning of October 22nd 1850. The annual meetings are scientific and business events, originally attended by a core of some 50 – 60 members and currently enjoying attendance of around double that number. In the links that follow you will find information from the annual Fechner Day meetings. Continue reading »


 Society  Comments Off
Nov 192006

The Society was conceived during discussions among varying combinations of Birgitta Berglund, Ulf Berglund, Bertram Scharf, Martha Teghtsoonian, and Robert Teghtsoonian, during the early part of 1985, and had its first meeting later the same year in Marseille, France. Scharf and his colleagues in the CNRS laboratories in Marseille agreed to serve as a local organizing committee and be our hosts for a first meeting divided between meeting rooms at the CNRS and various locations in the picturesque (and conveniently nearby) village of Cassis.

Continue reading »


 Society  Comments Off
Nov 192006

Society President

Dr. Martha Teghtsoonian
Psychology Faculty
Smith College
 (413) 585-3902

Society Vice-president

Dr. Rosana Tristao
Centre for Brain and Cognitive Development
School of Psychology, Birkbeck College
Henry Wellcome Building, London WC1E 7HX
Phone: +44 (0)20 7079 0754
Fax: +44 (0)20 7631 6587

Society Treasurer

Prof. Wolfgang Ellermeier
Applied Cognitive Psychology
Technical University of Darmstadt
Tel: +49-6151 16 5315

Society Secretary

Dr. Elisabeth Borg
Psykologiska institutionen
Stockholms universitet
106 91 Stockholm
Tel: 08-163869
Fax: 08-159342

Advisors to Executive Committee

Mark Elliott    Email:
Lawrence Ward    Email:

Continue reading »